Coffitivity: Aewsome!

coffitivity

I discovered Coffitivity about three hours ago and I liked it so much that I had to come here and tell you, my dear readers, about it.

So what is this Coffitivity? You may have guessed that is related to coffee, and to be more precise it is related to the sounds of a coffee shop. Coffitivity is a web page that brings the vibe of a coffee shop right to you desktop. And why is that so nice that I had to come and tell you about it right away? It’s simple! The noise of a coffee shop mixed with music of your choice can help boost your creativity. Amazing, right?

The people who created Coffitivity based the page on the results of the research “Is Noise Always Bad? Exploring the Effects of Ambient Noise on Creative Cognition” by Ravi Mehta, Rui (Juliet) Zhu, and Amar Cheema (click here to view it). I have not read the research yet (I will and then I’ll tell you about it!), but, according to the Coffitivity creators, the “mix of calm and commotion in an environment like a coffee house is proven to be just what you need to get those creative juices flowing.”

I tested it today while doing my Italian homework and I approved of the results. I did not have any burst of creativity in creating sentences in Italian, but the mix of music and the sounds of a coffee shop were soothing and did not distract me from my work, it actually helped me to concentrate more on what I was doing.

I used the Coffitivity mixed with the scores for “Departures” and Pearl Harbor, by Joe Hisaishi and Hans Zimmer successively.

If you are like me and like to have some sound while you work, this may be just you thing. Try it out and let me know what your impressions are!

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Applications, Internet

Leave a Reply

